Dropbox: “There was an error downloading your clip”

Some of you are having trouble downloading my clips from Dropbox. When you click on a clip and are not signed in to Dropbox, you will be given two choices: “Direct download” and “Save to my Dropbox”. If you then click on “Direct download”, you’ll get the message “There was an error downloading your clip”.

I’m not sure why this error has been happening lately but it seems to happen with all my clips. I haven’t noticed the error because I’m using a small download manager program called Internet Download Manager which downloads everything – including Dropbox clips, even when you’re not signed in. It is, however, not a free program and so it may not be an option for all of you.

Two things: Videos can still be viewed even if they can’t be downloaded. And: As far as I can tell, the error only happens when you’re not signed in to Dropbox.

If you have a solution for the problem – or know what’s causing it – please drop me a line at captainkidnap@gmail.com or leave a comment here. If there is nothing to be done about the error, I’m not sure whether Dropbox is the way to go in the future. I’ve been pretty happy with it so far but I’m a paying customer and so I would really like downloads to work the way they should. I would like to get some feedback from you on this.  Do you prefer me using Dropbox or some other filesharing service – and why?

Leave a Reply

